Photo Challenge Wrap Up

The 365 Project is an online digital photo project that employs participants to take and upload a digital photo every day for an entire year.  There are no strict rules; simply upload one photo per day that you took and want to share.  This week, I did a mini photo challenge and shared a photo every day for a week.  You can find them all here.

Taking photos is nothing new to me.  Although I am by no means a professional photographer, I often have my camera on me and have taken a few photos over time that I am proud of.  For this challenge, I gave myself a few “rules” to make it more of a challenge than just taking photos.  Rule #1 was that I would upload a picture at the end of my day that best exemplified my day.  Rule #2 was that I had to be able to describe in it two words or less.  I didn’t want to ramble on about the importance of the photo.  I wanted the photo and the caption to speak for itself.

It was a fun process.  The extra rules I gave myself forced me to take many more pictures in a day than I normally would.  Reason being that because I wanted to share what most shaped my day, I had to take a picture of everything, lest nothing better came along!  It forced me to think about what I was taking a picture of as well.  What photo do I take that will tell the story I want to tell?  Will this photo look just like yesterday’s or will I take a different style of photo?

I can see using a challenge like this in upper grades where students may have their own cell phones. I can see a photo challenge being useful to document a vacation (Christmas Break, Spring Break) and provide the scaffolding for a narrative story.  Additionally, it could be used in science or social studies to curate a portfolio on life sciences or local culture.  In younger grades, you could accomplish the same with iPads, but you’d have to determine if you really want kids carrying them around everywhere they go.  One social studies standard of kindergarten is understanding your community.  A photo challenge such as this would be a great way for students to learn about their own unique community.  If you have good parent involvement, a challenge like this would work well.  If kids couldn’t do it at home (or wouldn’t have support) those students could be encouraged to document the school community.

Overall, it was a fun challenge and I see some good uses for it in an educational setting.

Leave a Reply

