creative commons license

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

I spent quite a bit of time looking at the different Creative Commons licenses even though I already had a pretty good idea of what I wanted.  It was important to me that nobody profit from my work.  In our career, much of our advancement is built upon professional learning communities and the sharing of resources.  I feel that we should share openly – with a few exceptions.  I created a license where others could adapt my work to make it their own as long as it is stated that this work was altered.

The idea of others altering and redistributing my work caused me to pause and think.  Do I want my name attached to someone else’s interpretation of “bettering” my work?  What if they make something I created better?  What if they remix my video into something horrendous!? In the end, I decided that overall, I’d like people to be able to share alterations of my work as long as they share alike and provide original credit to me.  The share alike clause is an important one because, again, I didn’t want someone to make a slight alteration to my work and then share it commercially. One of the nice things about Creative Commons is that I can change the license for each item that I create and share.  If there is something I feel strongly shouldn’t be altered, I can create a different license specifically for that product.

You can create your own Creative Commons license at http://creativecommons.org/choose/

Leave a Reply

